• |
  • |
CPI(M) to go alone in LS, Assembly elections
| 11 March, 2014

press trust of india
Bhubaneswar, 10 March
The CPI-M today said it was going to fight the coming elections in Odisha alone and would field candidates in two Lok Sabha and 12 Assembly seats.
Odisha CPI(M) secretary Janardan Pati said that the party decided not to have seat adjustment with the BJD, unlike the last election.
“”In the 2009 elections, the CPI-M had seat adjustment with the BJD. This time, they did not invite us for seat arrangement. Therefore, we will go alone in the state,” Pati said. Announcing the names of candidates at the partys head office here, Pati said that of the 12 Assembly seats, the names of two candidates for Satyabadi constituency in Puri district and Paralakhemundi constituency in Gajapati district would be announced later. He said the party decided to field veteran communist leader Ali Kishore Patnaik from Berhampur. The name of the candidate for the Balasore LS  seat will be announced after getting nod of the central leadership. The constituencies where the CPI(M) will put candidates are: Bonai (Laxman Munda), Rourkela (Salomi Minz), Nilagiri (Pradipta Panda), Remuna (Dr Sanjay Das), Jaleswar (Sisir Hui), Salepur (Badrinarayan Das), Ranpur (Golak Bihari Muduli), Nayagarh (Biswanath Mohapatra), Digapahandi (Bidyadhar Jena) and Mohana (Dandapani Raita).

comments powered by Disqus