New Delhi, 4 October
The Election Commission today announced the dates for Assembly polls in five states, considered to be a semi-final before next year’s general election. 
Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Mizoram will hold elections between 11 November and 4 December. Counting of votes in all states will be on 8 December, the Chief Election Commissioner, Mr V S Sampath, told a press conference today. It will be a single-day poll in all states barring Chhattisgarh where it will be held in two phases 
Polling day in Delhi will be on 4 December. The term of the Delhi Assembly ends on 17 December. Mizoram, too, will go to the polls on 4 December. Madhya Pradesh will have the election on 25 November and election for the Rajasthan assembly will be held on 1 December. In Chhattisgarh polls will be held on 11 and 19 November
Mr Sampath said forces drawn from Central Armed Police Forces and State Armed Forces will be deployed in Chhattisgarh. “We want to ensure that confidence is instilled in voters to exercise their franchise,” he said.
The EC also decided to hold by-elections to the Surat (West) Assembly constituency in Gujarat and Yercaud Assembly seat in Tamil Nadu on 4 December.  
Mr Sampath said the model code of conduct has become applicable for parties with immediate effect.