BJP forms 3-member panel for Presidential poll


Amit Shah (Twitter)

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief Amit Shah on Monday formed a three-member panel to decide NDA’s candidate for the upcoming Presidential poll.

According to reports, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Urban development Minister Venkaiah Naidu, and Home Minister Rajnath Singh are part of the panel who will screen candidates for the top most constitutional post of the country.

The party's decision to form the panel comes days after the Election Commission announced dates for the Presidential polls.

The party will hold talks with its NDA allies to announce the name of their candidate on or before June 15.

The Presidential election will be held on 17 July. President Pranab Mukherjee's term ends on 24 July. 

According to reports, the Opposition parties, led by Congress president Sonia Gandhi, will meet on 14 June to formally begin discussions on the presidential and vice presidential elections.

(With inputs from agencies)

Related Articles