Haryana on high alert ahead of Yoga Day


(PHOTO: Getty Images)

In view of the intelligence reports relating to possibility of terror attacks on Yoga Day in several states, security agencies in Haryana have been put on high alert.

Well placed sources from the Haryana government told that the chief minister (CM) Manohar Lal Khattar has asked the Director General of Police (DGP) BS Sandhu to take every possible step to avoid any untoward incident during the Yoga Day.

Talking to The Statesman, Sandhu said that said that stringent security measures have been ordered in the state in view of the alert.

Security agencies and district administrations in the state have been asked to be more alert keeping a close watch around the events scheduled across all the districts. Moreover, adequate numbers of security personnel have been deployed on these spots, he added.

Decision came after the Intelligence Bureau warned of terror attacks on Yoga Day in many states including Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi and Gujarat.

Haryana government will celebrate third International Yoga Day on June 21, where Chief Minister (CM), Ministers, Ministers of State, Chief Parliamentary Secretaries (CPSs) and MLAs would be chief guest in district level function.

CM would be the chief guest in district level function to be organised in Karnal and Minister of State for Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs, Karan Dev Kamboj would also be present on the occasion.

Similarly, Education Minister Ram Bilas Sharma would be the chief guest in district Mahendragarh, Finance Minister Captain Abhimanyu in Hisar district, Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare Minister Om Prakash Dhankar in Jhajjar district, Health Minister Anil Vij in Ambala district, Public Works (Building and Roads) Minister Rao Narbir Singh in Gurugram district and Urban Local Bodies Minister Kavita Jain in district Panipat.

Transport Minister Krishan Lal Panwar would be the chief guest in district Sonepat, Industries Minister Vipul Goel in district Faridabad, Minister of State for Cooperation Manish Kumar Grover in Rohtak district, Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment Krishan Kumar Bedi in district Kurukshetra and Minister of State for Public Health Engineering Banwari Lal in district Rewari.

While Vidhan Sabha Speaker Kanwar Pal and Deputy Speaker Santosh Yadav would be the chief guest in district Yamunanagar and Panchkula, respectively.

In districts Jind, Kaithal, Nuh and Sirsa, four CPSs would be the chief guest respectively while four MLAs would be chief guest in districts Bhiwani, Charkhi Dadri, Fatehabad and Palwal.

Related Articles