16 members have been moved to a safe resort by cong leaders, mzp board to be formed on 10 sept

Malda, 4 September
Apprensive of Trinamul Congress&’s attempt at ‘horse trading’ before the formation of Malda zilla parishad (MZP), Congress district leaders have packed up all 16 Congress MZP members and kept them in a ‘safe resort’ in Kolkata. The board of MZP will be formed on 10 September.
The district Congress general secretary, Mr Narendranath Tiwary, said: “We do not want to take chances. We have seen the dirty politics of Trinamul leaders during the formation of English Bazaar panchayat samiti recently.
“They allured four of our members who despite having won with Congress tickets supported the Trinamul,” he said.
“Hence, we have taken all our 16 MZP members to Kolkata. They would return to Malda according to the direction of the district Congress president and Union Minister AH Khan Choudhury (Dalu) who would be coming to Malda on 7 September”, he said.
The CPI-M district secretary, Mr Ambar Mitra, however, did not seem to be worried of ‘horse trading’ in MZP board formation.
Mr Mitra said: “Two of our members supported the Trinamul in the English Bazaar panchayat samiti. We would expel them for anti-party activities. But we have faith in our members. None of our 16 MZP members would violate the decision of the party.”
Mr Mitra informed that the Left Front members of MZP would be present during the board formation of MZP on 10 September.
“But we would not contest for the post of Sabhadhipati,” he said.
The district Trinamul president and Social Welfare Minister, Mrs Sabitri Mitra, said: “We have six members. With our limited strength we would be contesting for Sabhadhipati post. But we have no motive of horse trading. We did not purchase any members from any party while forming the English Bazaar panchayat samiti. Those Congress and CPI-M members supported us being influenced by the agenda of development of the Trinamul Congress.”
It may be mentioned that there are 38 members in MZP.
In the recently concluded rural polls, the Congress and Left Front bagged 16 seats each while the Trinamul got six.